Dear Google, here’s why Amazon Ads are simply better.

Atanas Mitrev
2 min readNov 25, 2020

One sunny September morning, while performing a quick check on my clients’ accounts, I noticed something was off. Half of the search terms had magically disappeared overnight! Even worse, when selecting a broad match keyword, I could see queries for only 3 out of the 59 clicks. At that very moment, I decided I was done working with a company that wanted me out of the game.

Google wants to get rid of ad managers

Not too long ago, Google Ads agency owners and freelancers were treated like rockstars. Special badges, rewards, treats, and even cakes! Nowadays, all we get is a “Google Ads Representative,” internally known as an “Advertising Salesman.” It’s blatantly obvious that when their algorithms become good enough, Google Ads managers are going to be the first ones out the door.

I am done working with a company that wants me out of the equation. Naturally, I started looking for alternatives.

Enter Amazon Ads

You know, I’ve never been an E-commerce guy. But two days into learning Amazon Ads, I was hooked. Just have a look at this:

  • Tracking is built-in;
  • No shitty “recommended” tags;
  • Auto campaigns do actually work (at times);
  • You get 100% of the search terms you paid for;
  • Default settings are not trying to trick you into using algorithms;
  • Close match is much more conservative — it picks on plurals, some typos, and some linking words, but that's all;
  • The platform receives frequent updates, which actually give advertisers more information instead of taking it away;
  • There are just three bidding strategies, and they are all manual (except in Brand Campaigns, where you can also use Auto if you so desire);
  • Amazon has a specific page called Agency Toolkit. Ah, it feels so much better when the platform you work with actually cares about its own advertisers;

I am sorry to leave you Google, but you never really wanted me anyway . . .

--

--

Atanas Mitrev
0 Followers

I help tech stores on Amazon grow with Amazon Ads. Follow for weekly Amazon Ads tips. Looking for an Amazon Ads freelancer? You can contact me at atanas.one